Sorry for leaving everyone hanging! I’ve been
meaning to write a health update for weeks, but I’ve just been SO TIRED. I’m
not exactly catching up on sleep, just kind of existing in a perpetual state of
fatigue, which makes it difficult to sit down and put coherent thoughts
together. But I’m having a moment of being less-fatigued for now, so I’m gonna
give it a shot!
For a couple weeks things were kind of up and
down, mainly due to the JP drain. In order to get it removed, the color needed
to get lighter (indicating the internal bleeding had mostly stopped), and the
daily production needed to come down. Things were progressing nicely until I
had a sudden, violent coughing fit shortly before my follow up appointment, which
set everything back. At the appointment my surgeon said I probably popped a
stitch. Apparently I don’t just have mesh in there, I also have some internal
sutures holding everything together. After what I went through with that
leftover transplant suture harboring infection and causing these abscesses, I
was understandably concerned about putting in MORE sutures, but he reassured me
that while the transplant suture he removed was originally intended to be
permanent, these sutures and the mesh are dissolvable. While the risk is not
zero, it is MUCH lower than with a permanent suture. I was also surprised to find
out that each piece of rib that he removed was about 1-2” long! But that does
explain the large lump I can see where they inserted mesh to fill in the gap. I
guess my chest x-rays are gonna look even more interesting from here on out!
Given the increased output and red color of the
drain, we decided to leave it in another week. One thing he did do during that
appointment though was remove all 39 staples, which was a huge improvement! I
didn’t even realize how much of my discomfort and restricted movement was due
to the staples. In terms of the drain, I was coming in for a transplant
appointment the following week anyway, so we just planned to remove it then. Everything
seemed to be going smoothly, until once again the drain output increased and
turned red, this time with no clear trigger. Which meant I got to have an
unexpected CT scan to make sure everything was ok in there. Thankfully, they
didn’t see anything concerning, and the drain output continued to improve over
the next several days, so 3 weeks ago I finally got the drain removed! What a
relief!! And even better, once I made it through the next few days without any
problems, after 3 and a half months I was FINALLY approved to STOP THE IV
ANTIBIOTICS!!! Not staying up running infusions until 3am and not being chained
to an IV pole 9 hours a day is WONDERFUL! I can’t even describe how relieved
Katherine and I are to FINALLY put that behind us!!!
I still kept the PICC line, because we wanted
to make sure things stayed stable before removing it. A week later I woke up
for my regularly scheduled weekly nursing visit, only to see a text message from
my nurse saying that someone else would be coming out a bit later that day
instead, because my team told them to pull my PICC line! I was SO surprised and
SO excited!! I literally started jumping up and down, and Katherine and I had multiple
impromptu dance parties in the living room both before and after the nurse came
out! I am SO HAPPY to finally be free of medical hardware for the first time
since November!!
All my various incisions are still tender and
healing, and I still have pain, and I am QUITE weak and deconditioned. I get
worn out very easily, and unfortunately I’ve been having trouble sleeping, so
that’s not exactly helping my energy level. I’m also having off and on GI
issues, and while I’ve given up the IV antibiotics, I’m still taking an oral
antifungal until at least June, which can have similar side effects. And now
Pesach (Passover) is coming, which is stressful under the best of circumstances!
But I’ve been taking walks around the neighborhood when I can to build my
strength back up, and I’ve even managed walking up the stairs to the 6th
floor (with breaks!), so I’m pretty confident that by the time the holiday
starts I’ll be able to manage going out for a few meals that aren’t too far
from home. Pesach is not just the holiday of redemption, it celebrates a redemption
that happened so fast they weren’t even ready for it! May it also signal the
start of speedrunning my own “redemption” and recovery, and even more
importantly, the END of being plagued and “enslaved” by pseudomonas!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment